de fr it

Hail risk in Switzerland

General

Some of the areas in Europe most under threat from hail are located in Switzerland. The danger is greatest in the foothills of the Alps from the canton of Bern into eastern Switzerland. On average, inhabitants here have to contend with damage caused by hailstones 1 cm in diameter once a year. Further danger zones are the western Bernese Oberland, southern Ticino, the Lake Geneva region and the central and eastern Jura Mountains.

In order to extend the Zurich natural hazards radar (http://www.zurich.ch/naturalhazards), Zurich Insurance Company Ltd has appointed the company Meteotest AG to create a hailstorm map for Switzerland with the latest data.

The Zurich Natural Hazard Radar was developed for Switzerland in collaboration with the engineers and geologists at GEOTEST AG, and draws upon the hazard and risk advisory maps of the Cantons and maps of the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN).

Interpretation of the hailstorm risk

With a spatial resolution of 1 km x 1 km, the interpretation of the hailstorm risk for Switzerland makes statements on the maximum hailstone size for a recurrence period of 50 years. For the respective hazard zones, hailstones of the specified size can be expected at least once every 50 years at any building location.

Data base and methodology

Data records from the period 1999 to 2018 were evaluated for the analysis and interpretation of the hailstorm risk. The following three records were used for this purpose:

  1. Radar images with vertical sections from 2008 to 2018 in 5-minute intervals and a spatial resolution of 1 km x 1 km.
  2. Radar images without vertical sections from 1999 to 2018 in 5-minute intervals and a spatial resolution of 1 km x 1 km.
  3. Hailstorm observations from the Skywarn Switzerland database since 2011, www.skywarn.ch

The cloud height can be derived from the radar images with vertical sections and the maximum hailstone size can be deduced from the zero degree level (record 1). Record 2 comprises 20 years of radar images with which hailstone sizes were estimated on the basis of the precipitation intensity of 100 mm/h (55 dBZ). Record 3 contains 500 documented soil observations of hailstone size, location and time since 2011. This source provides important information for the calibration of hailstone sizes derived from records 1 and 2.

During a hailstorm event, the largest hailstone sizes only account for a small proportion within the low percentage range. As a result of this, it cannot be assumed that the largest hailstone size is always found and reported during an observation. Nevertheless, a correlation between observation and radar image information of the cloud height was able to be derived for calculating the maximum hailstone sizes.

The spatial distribution of the maximum hailstone size as well as the range of values are clearly comparable with the results of Nisi (2016)[1], which means the present interpretation of the hailstorm risk for Switzerland can be classified as realistic.

The project produced five analyses with the frequencies for different hailstone sizes from 0 to 5 cm (number of days per km2 and year with the corresponding hailstone size). The interpretation of the hailstorm risk for Switzerland was compiled from this for the recurrence period of 50 years, as the logic is comparable with the hazard maps for other natural hazards.

Disclaimer

© Meteotest AG, Fabrikstrasse 14, 3012 Bern, 2018


[1] Nisi, Luca et al., 2016: Spatial and temporal distribution of hailstorms in the Alpine region: a long-term, high resolution, radar-based analysis, Quarterly Journal of the Royal Meteorological Society

de it en

Risque de grêle en Suisse

Les généralités

Quelques régions de Suisse font partie des zones d’Europe les plus menacées par la grêle. C’est en bordure des Alpes, du canton de Berne à la Suisse orientale, que le danger est le plus élevé. Dans cette région, la population peut s’attendre à des dommages causés par des grêlons d’un centimètre une fois par année. Les autres zones de danger sont l’Oberland bernois occidental, le sud du Tessin, la région autour du lac Léman ainsi que le Jura central et oriental.

Pour l’extension du Radar des dangers naturels de Zurich (www.zurich.ch/dangersnaturels), Zurich Compagnie d’Assurances SA a mandaté la société Meteotest AG afin qu’elle crée une carte des chutes de grêle pour la Suisse.

Le Zurich Radar des dangers naturels a été développé en collaboration avec les ingénieurs et géologues de GEOTEST AG, et se fonde sur les cartes des dangers et cartes indicatives des dangers des cantons ainsi que sur les cartes de l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV).

Interprétation de l'analyse du risque des chutes de grêle

L'analyse du risque des chutes de grêle montre les zones à risque de grêle, en précisant la taille de grêlons maximale (diamètre en centimètres) sur une période de récurrence de 50 ans et avec une résolution spatiale de 1 km x 1 km. Pour chaque zone à risque, il faut partir du principe que sur le site choisi, vous pouvez tabler sur des grêlons de la taille mentionnée au moins une fois tous les 50 ans.

Bases des données et méthodologie

Pour créer cette carte, il a fallu analyser les données collectées entre 1999 et 2018. Ce faisant, les trois sources d’informations suivantes ont été utilisées:

  1. images radar avec coupes verticales de 2008 à 2018 dans une résolution temporelle de 5 minutes et une résolution spatiale de 1 km x 1 km;
  2. images radar sans coupes verticales de 1999 à 2018 dans une résolution temporelle de 5 minutes et une résolution spatiale de 1 km x 1 km;
  3. observations des chutes de grêle issues de la base de données Skywarn Suisse depuis 2011, www.skywarn.ch.

Les images radar avec coupes verticales permettent d'évaluer l'altitude des nuages et de déterminer la taille de grêlon maximale avec la limite du zéro degré. (Source d'informations 1) La deuxième source d'informations contient 20 ans d'images radar qui ont permis de calculer la taille des grêlons à l'aide de l'intensité des précipitations de 100 mm/h (55 dBZ). La troisième source contient 500 observations au sol documentées concernant la taille des grêlons, le lieu et l'heure depuis 2011. Cette source fournit de précieuses informations sur la calibration des tailles de grêlons estimées via les sources 1 et 2.

Dans le cadre d'une chute de grêle, les plus grands grêlons représentent un faible pourcentage de la totalité des grêlons. C'est pourquoi il est impossible d'être certain de trouver et de documenter systématiquement le grêlon le plus grand lors d'une observation. Néanmoins, le lien entre l'observation et les images radar concernant l'altitude des nuages ont permis de déterminer les tailles de grêlons maximales.

La répartition géographique de la taille de grêlon maximale et l'ordre de grandeur étant tout à fait comparables aux résultats de Nisi (2016)[1], nous pouvons affirmer que la présente interprétation est réaliste.

Ce travail a abouti à cinq analyses indiquant la fréquence des diverses tailles de grêlons de 0 à 5 cm (nombre de journées par km2 et an avec la taille correspondante). L'entreprise a ainsi compilé l'interprétation du risque de grêle en Suisse pour une période récurrente de 50 ans, la pertinence de sa logique étant comparable aux cartes des zones indiquant d'autres dangers naturels.

Disclaimer

© Meteotest AG, Fabrikstrasse 14, 3012 Bern, 2018


[1] Nisi, Luca et al., 2016: Spatial and temporal distribution of hailstorms in the Alpine region: a long-term, high resolution, radar-based analysis, Quarterly Journal of the Royal Meteorological Society